Giraffe

I like learning about the history behind words. Yes, I’m weird I know. 😀 The word that has my favorite history by far is giraffe. Have you ever wondered where the word giraffe came from? After all, when you hear the word giraffe you don’t think of anything else besides that specific animal because there really is no other word that sounds similar or another animal that looks familiar.

The word giraffe, like many words in English, comes from Arabic and is borrowed by English from French and Italian. For many years, giraffes were actually called comelians due to a transcription error. You see, it was called a camelopard before that. This is because a giraffe does look similar to a camel and leopard in some ways. Then, it was called a camelion because it was accidentally transcribed from Latin into English as such. To find out much more about the history of the word giraffe and other words click here.

Now, a little theory of mine, a child has turned into a human being of note once he or she can pronounce the word giraffe. Think about it for a second, giraffe linguistically is a hard word to say. How likely is it that a child’s first word will be giraffe? I’m not saying I wont interact with a child until they can say the word giraffe, that would be mean! I’m saying it shows advancement when a child can say the word giraffe correctly. 🙂

The book The White Giraffe by Lauren St. John is about a girl who gets an unexpected gift. Unfortunately, the gift she receives in under a great deal of threat. Technically, this is a book for children I think. That doesn’t matter in the slightest it is still a very good book. I hope you enjoy!

