Use it Don’t Abuse It

Hm, when I tried doing my preliminary research for this blog I did not come up with much at all. However, I am still going to do the post because maybe you will go out into the World Wide Web and find something relevant. Or, perhaps you have a few stories to tell.

In the United States, as well as in other parts of the world, if you go to college you may qualify for Financial Aid. Well, some people abuse their financial aid. They take their refund check and by Wii’s and IPOD’s instead of food, books, and supplies. Some people apply for scholarships that they should not really qualify for but they sneak through the cracks of the system anyways.

Again, I could not find much research or specific articles about this problem but it is one I know is happening. I would invite you to comment on this post and tell stories if you have them. Just please make sure you do giving basic information and not any specifics with regards to confidentially or your comment will be deleted. And, if you can find any articles with regards to this topic let me know. I’m still looking into it more so there is a follow up post to come.

Dorp Dead, by Julia Cunningham, is an orphan story. That is, the main character is an orphan and has to find his way in the world without much help from others and facing mental abuse. This is a short little book that packs a wallop of meaning. It was recently reintroduced for print so it may be hard to find apart from Amazon. I have a copy if you would like to borrow it. I just realized it has a new cover now. I don’t like it. Enjoy!

