Instant Gratification

If you send out a text message and don’t get an immediate response, what happens? If food isn’t fast we don’t eat it. Sex, drugs, alcohol, hey if it feels good – do it. All of these things are the mark of the instant gratification society in which we live. And, really, it might not be a good thing that we always have to have the pleasure first and the consequences later.

This is an interesting article that was written about the fact that people always feel the need to instantly have pleasure or instantly know information. It explains a famous experiment where children were given a marshmallow. The research told the children they could eat the marshmallow or save it. If after a short period of time they still had their marshmallow they would get another one. The children who waited and the children who ate their marshmallows right away were tracked across their lifespans. The children that waited ended up being more successful, healthier, and better equipped to face the world.

Let’s think about it. Fast food is great because it’s fast but it is also terrible for your health. A text message is JUST a stream of communication not a life or death situation. Most importantly, sex, drugs, and alcohol have their consequences and limitations.

Here is another short little website that explains that if people are always getting what they want right away they will not appreciate the hard work that comes with success. For instance, if we always get what we want it will just make us want more, more, more, and not appreciate what’s there at all.

One of my favorite books of all time The Road Less Traveled by M. Scott Peck, M. D. discusses this subject. It also goes into the fact that everyone should consider psychotherapy because everyone needs an objective outsider to analyze problems. This is a GREAT book. If you want to borrow a copy, I have one. Remember, just because we live in an if it feels good, do it society” like they did in the roaring 20s that doesn’t mean we have to negatively affect ourselves and others by it.

2 thoughts on “Instant Gratification

  1. I’m an asynchronous person. I don’t text or Tweet and rarely Facebook. All of those demand my attention at a moment I may not want to give it. But you have to be self-aware to be able to identify that. Took me a while to figure that out.

    I blog, I email, I do some bulletin boards…… at my leisure and when I’m ready.

    This also lets me have friends around the world. Western NY is GMT -5 — there are 23 other time zones out there and my friends may live somewhere that it’s not practical to connect with them in ‘real’ time. So I leave a message and, when they can, they get back to me.

  2. You, MJ, are not a slave to the instant gratification society. However, I think it is more the millennials that are having this problem.

Comments are closed.